Let it slide

“The ability to let that which does not matter truly slide.”. Remember Tyler Durden? Fight Club?

As soon as I heard the protagonist say that, I couldn’t swear more by that line. It became my mantra pushing everything that bothered me under the carpet, making myself believe its water under the bridge, let it flow. So whatever went against my way of thinking went out of the window (The shrinks call it Cognitive dissonance). Whoever hurt me could *******  they are not worth it anyway.It made me feel better about myself and protected my ego. It’s a good thing to do, it makes you stronger.

But then sometimes you shut out the right stuff just because it feels wrong. And then suddenly you get so caught up in letting things slide you lose the ability to let the things that really matter not slide. Friends, relationships….they all begin to slide. It takes a lot of time and effort to hang on to these. Life just gets complicated as it progresses and the people who simplify it move away. Most of the time you don’t realize it until you’ve hit rock bottom and you’re home alone on a Saturday night. But then once again you let it all slide, it doesnt really matter, telling yourself you’ve got better plans, better plans like updating your blog.

So, what do you think?

